

## STATE OF FLORIDA

## FEDERAL DISASTER DECLARATION FACT SHEET

## **SEPTEMBER 13, 2017**

On September 10, 2017, President Donald J. Trump issued a Major Disaster Declaration for the State of Florida triggering the release of Federal funds to help people and communities recover from Hurricane Irma that began September 4, 2017, and continuing. This disaster declaration has been amended as indicated below in bold. Details of the disaster declaration and assistance programs are as follows:

Declaration Number:	FEMA-4337-DR
Incident:	Hurricane Irma
Incident Period:	September 4, 2017, and continuing
Federal Coordinating Officer:	Justo Hernández National FCO Program
Individual Assistance (IA):	(Assistance to individuals and households):
IA-Designated Counties:	Brevard, Broward, Charlotte, Citrus, Clay, Collier, DeSoto, Duval, Flagler, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Hernando, Highlands, Hillsborough, Indian River, Lake, Lee, Manatee, Marion, Martin, Miami-Dade, Monroe, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Pasco, Palm Beach, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, Sarasota, Seminole, St. Johns, and St. Lucie, Sumter, and Volusia.
Public Assistance (PA):	(Assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities):
PA-Designated Counties:	All 67 counties in the State of Florida for debris removal and emergency protective measures (Categories A and B), including direct federal assistance, under the Public Assistance program at 75 percent federal funding. For a period of up to 30 days from

	the start of the incident period, FEMA is authorized to provide federal funding for emergency protective measures (Category B), including direct federal assistance, at 100 percent of the total eligible costs.
Hazard Mitigation (HM):	(Assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long term risk to life and property from natural hazards):
HM-Designated Areas:	All counties and Indian Tribes in the State of Florida are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.
OTHER:	Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Individuals in Brevard, Broward, Charlotte, Clay, Collier, Duval, Flagler, Hillsborough, Lee, Manatee, Miami-Dade, Monroe, Orange, Pasco, Palm Beach, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, Sarasota, St. Johns, and St. Luice Counties can register with FEMA the following ways:

- Apply online at <u>www.DisasterAssistance.gov</u>.
- Constituents may call the registration phone number at 1-800-621-3362; those who have a speech disability or hearing loss and use TTY, should call 1-800-462-7585 directly; for those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362.

###